“As Labour elected representatives and candidates in the forthcoming local elections, we place on record our solidarity and support for his victim and condemn unconditionally the callous actions of Dipu Ahad. We praise the victim for her sustained courage in speaking out against a powerful figure in the city. We also condemn his late guilty plea for aggravated stalking which, because of the prospect of a trial, added considerably to the stress and pressure on his victim. We are appalled by the misogyny and hate that was spread by some about her and believe that lessons need to be learned about why a victim of such appalling crimes was not only disbelieved, but openly challenged by some within the community. We are proud to sign up to the White Ribbon campaign and will do everything we can to ensure that all victims of abuse, harassment and hate crimes are given the dignity, respect and support they deserve.”


Kim McGuinness                 Police & Crime Commissioner

Chi Onwurah                        Newcastle Central MP

Catherine McKinnell            Newcastle North MP

Nick Forbes                           Leader of Newcastle Labour Group

Joyce Mc Carty                    Deputy Leader of Newcastle Labour Group

David Cook                           Lord Mayor

Habib Rahman                     Deputy Lord Mayor / Sheriff

Clare Penny-Evans             Chair of Safe Newcastle

Councillors and Candidates:

Arlene Ainsley, Irim Ali, Nick Arnold, Oskar Avery, Simon Barnes, Jeremy Beecham, Ged Bell, Jane Byrne, Teresa Cairns, Alistair Chisholm, Sylvia Copley, Melissa Davis, Jamie Dickinson, Veronica Dunn. Anya Durant, Stephen Fairlie, Paul Frew, Gordana Franklin, Charlie Gray, Sam Grist, Alex Hay, Andrew Herridge, Rob Higgins, Linda Hobson, Paula Holland, Brian Hunter, Nicu Ion, Nick Kemp, Karen Kilgour, Joanne Kingsland, Stephen Lambert, Maureen Lowson, Felicity Mendelson, Isra Mohammed, George Pattison, Sharon Pattison, Stella Postlethwaite, Stephen Powers, Tanya Pretswell, Jacqui Robinson, Abdul Samad, Stephen Sheraton, Stephen Stanners, Hazel Stephenson, John-Paul Stephenson, John Stokel-Walker, Lesley Storey, Lu Thompson, Ian Tokell, Kyle Webster, Marion Williams, David Wood, Margaret Wood, Stephen Wood, Linda Wright, Wendy Young

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search